Hyden-Bourne, Ross-Walsh Jennings Milwaukee Winners

John Hyden and Tri Bourne celebrate their AVP win in Milwaukee.
Kohjiro Kinno
John Hyden and Tri Bourne celebrate their AVP win in Milwaukee.

Only two weeks after winning the FIVB Berlin Grand Slam, John Hyden and Tri Bourne added AVP Champions to their list of recent accomplishments.

The victory earned Hyden his 23rd domestic title, while Bourne counted his first. The duo met Phil Dalhausser and Sean Rosenthal in the final. The No.1-seeded team were coming off a big win at the Stavanger Grand Slam and earlier in the tournament had sent Hyden and Bourne to the contender's bracket.

Hyden and Bourne defeated Jeremy Casebeer and Casey Jennings to make the crossover back to the semifinals where they faced Casey Patterson and Jake Gibb, winning the match 21-19, 23-21.

Ryan Doherty and Nick Lucena were to play Dalhausser and Rosenthal but instead forfeited their semifinal match, setting up a rematch with Hyden and Bourne in the final. Hyden and Bourne took the win and the $15,000 first place prize 21-15, 21-18.

Kerri Walsh Jennings and April Ross won the women's tournament earning the duo their fifth title of the 2014 season (three on the FIVB tour and both AVP tournaments to date).

Without dropping a set, Walsh Jennings and Ross breezed through the winners' bracket to the final where they faced No. 2 seed Lauren Fendrick and Brooke Sweat. The underdogs surprised Walsh Jennings and Ross taking the first set 21-15 before coming up short the next two to give the win to the top seeds.

The Milwaukee tournament also marked a high-profile return to competition for 16-time AVP champ Nicole Branagh who didn't play at all in 2013. She and partner Amanda Dowdy scored a fifth in Milwaukee, falling to Jen Fopma and Whitney Pavlik just before the crossover.

Add a Comment

You need to log in to comment on this article. No account? No problem!



Explore Volleyball