A Year of Firsts

Ed Chan
Long Beach State's Delainey Aigner-Swesey (left) goes up against FSU's Visnja Djurdjevic's strong block.

This year is one of many firsts for NCAA beach volleyball. On March 16, 17 & 18, USC, Florida State, Long Beach State, and Pepperdine put their newly-formed teams to the test in the first ever four-way intercollegiate beach volleyball tournament. The matches were held at the Annenberg Community Beach House in Santa Monica where the winds were gusting at speeds of 20 MPH and higher, and storms caused two 30-minute weather delays. Pepperdine came out on top in the team competition with 18 points, and Florida State was second with 12. USC and Long Beach State tied at 10. However, it was Florida State’s Aurora Newgard and Brittany Tiegs, a junior and sophomore respectively, who pulled off an underdog victory to come out on top in the pairs championship, beating Pepperdine’s Caitlin Racich and Summer Ross in the finals. The scores of that match were 16-21, 21-16, 15-10.

Originally published in June 2012

Add a Comment

You need to log in to comment on this article. No account? No problem!



Explore Volleyball