2010 FIVB Women’s World Championships

Team VBM
Russia celebrates their FIVB World Championship win.

Once again, Russia proved it is the most dominant country when it comes to the FIVB Women’s World Championships, a tournament that has spanned almost six decades. The Russians defeated Brazil in five sets on Nov. 14, 2010 in Tokyo, Japan to claim their seventh gold medal and second straight, as Russia also defeated Brazil in 2006. In the marathon-match at Yoyogi National Stadium, Ekaterina Gamova of Russia collected 35 points en route to Most Valuable Player honors.

With the victory, Russia advanced one spot in the FIVB Women’s World Rankings to sixth while Brazil maintained its top spot in the world. Prior to the gold-medal match, the U.S. and Japan squared off in the bronze-medal contest, with the hosts winning a five-set thriller in front of a capacity-crowd. The third-place finish was the first time Japan medaled since 1978. Despite the loss, the U.S. retained its second-place position in the world as Japan moved up to a third-place tie with Italy.

Originally published in February 2011

Add a Comment

You need to log in to comment on this article. No account? No problem!



Explore Volleyball